Something New

It’s been a month since I left my first job and ventured on a new journey and territory. It’s been a month since I last saw my Metrobank friends, and a month since I started to try to catch my 7:30am bus and well, fail miserably at that.

Leaving Metrobank didn’t come to mind until around June of last year, when I was at my lowest point in life. I have always regarded Metrobank as the best company to work for, even if sometimes the environment seems a little too challenging to deal with. From employee benefits to the opportunities one can get from the strongest bank in the Philippines, leaving Metrobank seemed a poorly thought of decision. And yes, I came to a point in the past 30 days that I thought maybe I indeed made the wrong choice.

Almost a year ago, I decided to explore career opportunities outside the bank mainly because I wasn’t happy with my team and my work anymore. It wasn’t the best decision then, but I was thankful that I went through all that because then I realized my worth as a person and as an HR professional. I had an offer with ABSCBN back then but I decided not to push through with it anymore for various reasons. Months later, I was moved back to my old role (the role that I so dearly love) and things got better after that. Not until March this year that I got a message from an old friend asking if I was interested to explore career opportunities. I got curious with her offer so I tried. And 3 months later, here I am writing my first-month-at-work post.

It hasn’t been an easy journey especially that I had to leave my comfort zone. Imagine seating in a Lazy boy with unlimited drinks and chips while binge-watching your favorite series. Yes, it was THAT comfortable. Now imagine leaving that place. Yup, it was that difficult.

But sometimes, it really is necessary to move out of our comfort zones to grow, to learn new things, to see the other side of the world, no matter how difficult and daunting it may seem. And that’s what I did. I left Metrobank and joined La Filipina Uy Gongco Corporation. And now it’s been a month since then and so far I think I made the right decision. I haven’t been more relaxed and happier in my career life than now. The work environment is both challenging and chill. I am learning a lot of new things since I joined a different industry. I have new friends and lunchmates. I am eating healthier (no choice but to eat canteen food since there’s no other option available haha). I am travelling out of town more often. I spend way less for food and transportation. I pay ALL my bills ON TIME and without worry. I no longer ride the fucking MRT. Haha! I could say that my well-being has improved and that in the past 30 days, I became a better version of myself. And that I think is already a feat in itself.

I am excited to implement the programs and projects I am working on. I am hyped to make things happen for me and the company. And wherever this may lead me, whether I leave again or stay for more years, I am excited and looking forward to everything life has in store for me.

Leave a Reply

